UH Football Fan Blog (where's my banner?)

 Subscribe

This fan blog is unaffiliated in any way with the University of Hawaii or the Warriors football team.

Privacy Policy


Thursday, September 30, 2010

Chawan's Cut, Monico, Gomes, Etc.

Here's last night's Chawan's Cut. Got some WAC news, and interviews with Corey Paredes, Manti Te'o and Billy Ray Stutzmann.



Stephen Tsai profiles running back and special teams ace Jordan Monico.
Monico expected his role this season to be defined by helping the starters prepare for game nights. He'd volunteer to jump in with the scout team during kickoff periods, and impressed the coaches enough to move him over to the kickoff team for UH's opener against USC.
"We were having trouble blocking him on our kickoff return," UH special teams coordinator Chris Tormey said. "He understands football, fits in the right place, has really good size (6-foot-0 and 235 pounds), and he can run. He's a very good tackler. He wraps up and brings his feet on his tackles, runs through contact."
Tsai has news and notes about Lametrius Davis reclaiming his starting left cornerback spot, Rodney Bradley being listed as questionable for the LaTech game, Kamalu Umu moving back to left defensive end, and Jordan Gomes giving up an academic scholarship in engineering in order to continue playing football.

And LaTechSports.com has some game notes.
The Bulldogs depart Ruston Thursday morning after a 6:45 a.m. practice at Joe Aillet Stadium and will arrive in Honolulu at 4:45 p.m. HT/9:45 p.m. CT. After a short practice on Friday at Aloha Stadium, the team will visit Pearl Harbor and the Punch Bowl. Following Saturday's game at Hawai'i, the team will depart Honolulu, stop in Los Angeles for a two-hour layover beginning at 7:35 a.m. PT/9:35 a.m. CT and will finally arrive back in Ruston around 6:30 p.m. CT.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

** Back to the Main Page **